love, love, love

by badmammy

Oh boy! Am I ever glad it’s Friday! I don’t know why I say that, the days don’t really mean what they used to. It’s not like the weekends are that big of a deal anymore. I only work two days a week, not much of a grind. The days zip by so fast no matter what I’m doing. It’s amazing. They slide, one into the other & the next thing you know . . . . Like rolling downhill, the further you go the faster you go. Time flies.

Funny how things change. We used to live for Friday & Saturday nights. Ahhhhh, sweet youth. Out on the weekends, smokin, drinkin, dancin & chasin boys. And a Friday or Saturday night at home alone was a curse. A fate worse than death, to be avoided at all costs. Now I love staying home, doesn’t matter if it’s day or night, don’t care what month it is. Weather does not affect me.

disclaimer: I’m pretty much of a hermit anyway. When I’m at home it never occurs to me to go somewhere. I’d rather take a beatin than shop. Out of salt? We eat too much salt anyway, don’t need it. Driving around running errands, getting in & out of the car, lays me out. I guess it’s because when I was five I had Rheumatic Fever & was sick for a long time. I didn’t start second grade until after Christmas. The only thing I could do was lay around & read & that is still my favorite thing to do. I learned to live inside my head, where it is quite comfortable & the people know me.

Anyway, I’m thrilling on today being Friday. The sun is out, the sky is blue. NASCAR starts this weekend. Life is good. The Winter Olympics start tonight with the big opening ceremony, live from Canada.

Not only is Sunday the Daytona 500, it is also Valentine’s Day. Another day that has sort of slid out of  urgency & drama for me. I’ve turned into a cynic in my old age. I still believe in love, sweet love, don’t get me wrong. And it is kind of fun to have a day devoted to it. It is also a shame that we have to have an official day to share the love. It’s a day of pressure. No man wants to be the husband or boyfriend of the only woman in the office without flowers. I don’t want flowers this weekend. I want them some other time. Sometime when it doesn’t feel forced or like an obligation. Valentines are great but, really, don’t we all want to be the girl in the office who gets flowers for no reason?

I’m one of the lucky ones. I have a man in my life who lets me know that I am loved each & every day. We show our affection for each other by treating each other with respect & kindness. We say “I love you” a lot, too, & there’s plenty of huggin & kissin, but to me nothing says love like when he fixes dinner or brings me a cup of tea. I can literally swoon over a cleaned up bathroom or a vacuumed floor. It’s all those little everyday things that add up to big true love. It’s not one day.

Yep, I’ve got it made. No matter what day it is I still melt looking deep into those green eyes.


Leave a Reply

